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#98279 BBO – Saturday ARVO session 5th June 2021 

Board 10 last week saw most of the field playing in a spade contract East West 

although several pairs were too high.  The auction started the same at every 

table 1-P-1-2, all of which is pretty normal. 

 

At this point things varied.  Several Easts made a support double.  I have 

discussed this in a previous column but it’s a bid where partner has responded 

1 of a major and the opponents have overcalled below your 2 major level.  

Double is used to show 3 card support and an immediate raise guarantees 4 

card support.  This can be useful to diagnose the level of fit you have (if any!)  

However it can also cause you to miss out on a juicy penalty (see advanced 

section)! 

After such a double West has a fairly easy 2 bid for several reasons:   

• They now know there is an 8 card fit but not a 9 card fit (remember 9 card fits are hugely more powerful) 

• They have a singleton in partner’s first bid suit 

• Despite their 5 shape they still only have 9 points and partner doesn’t have to be any more than minimum 

(besides, if they are better than minimum, they will bid again anyway)   

Even though some pairs reached as much as 4, I think 2 should probably end the auction.  North has some shape 

but their heart suit isn’t great quality and 1 was opened on their left which downgrades the value of their AJ.  So 

they shouldn’t bid any more.  East has a minimum 13 points and a lot of values in the opponent’s heart suit so 

should not be raising any further either.   

Some Easts chose to raise directly to 2 over 2.  Reasonable if you are not playing support doubles but it could be 

a 4-3 fit.  I think pass is a better option – see advanced section. 

If West is playing in spades (whether 2, 3 or 4) North should probably lead their trump.  A singleton trump isn’t 

usually a good choice (it often helps declarer pick up partner’s trump honour that they might otherwise have had to 

guess) but on this hand it’s probably the least bad option. 

 

Trick 1 will probably go 10JKA, or possibly 1032Q.  What should West do at trick 2?  I would lead my singleton 

diamond.  Firstly North doesn’t know I have a singleton so might duck, secondly even if he takes it, that sets my KQ 

up as 2 more tricks.  Either way declarer is gaining something!  I lead it early on like this because if the A is taken I 

need an entry to dummy to get to the KQ – so I want to leave the heart there. 

 

When declarer led a diamond most Norths took the A and played a heart.  Every declarer won this in dummy.  They 

then continued trumps and, after finding out the bad news, continued a 2nd heart which South ruffed.  Depending on 

what had happened in trumps earlier, this either left South with K (declarer having A65 and dummy J) or South 

with 8 (declarer having Q65 and dummy 4). 

Weekly Wisdom 

The Sydney Bridge Centre mini lesson 

Julian Foster (many times NSW representative) will be analysing an interesting 

hand from each Saturday ARVO BBO session. To subscribe, please email your 

name and email address to office@sydneybridgecentre.com. 

You are also welcome to send questions about hands that you have played.  

Please use “Weekly Wisdom” as email subject. We will collate them and let 

our panellists leading by Julian Foster to answer them.  
WEEKLY WISDOM 
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Every South at this point led a club.  But better defence is to exit your last trump removing the 3rd trump from 

dummy.  Here that traps declarer in hand as they don’t have a 2nd diamond to get to dummy with but even if they 

did it is still the right defence.  See advanced section for more on this. 

 

A couple of Norths led a heart at trick 1.  Both declarers won in dummy but I’d have been very tempted to run it 

round to my hand.  North is vulnerable and they have overcalled 2.  Are they really likely to have done this on a 

suit missing AKQJ987?  I don’t think so!  Having won in dummy declarer led the J.  Should South cover this?  No.  

Even though it might later promote the 87 there is a bigger risk here – partner might have singleton Q or even 

singleton A!   

 

Later in the play the defence usually scored 2 or 3 club tricks.  Most declarers ended up making 7 or 8 tricks. 

 

The outlier result was 3 by North going 4 off.  The defence was ruthless, spade to the Q, diamond switch.  Declarer 

won and tried Q but East could win K, cash KQ and give their partner a ruff.  That’s 5 tricks for the defence 

already and East still has A98 of trumps which were worth 3 more tricks.  It made no difference to the matchpoints 

but EW should be doubling this – see advanced section. 

 

 

Key points to note 

• If you choose to play support doubles they apply after your partner has responded 1M and the opponents have 

overcalled in front of you below 2M.  Double shows exactly 3 card support for partner and bidding the major 

directly shows 4 card support. 

• Shortages in partner’s first suit and lots of points in the opponent’s suit are both poor features for taking lots of 

tricks and hands with these should generally be downgraded.   

• Leading singletons towards KQ holdings gives a defender with the A a problem – they might lose their A if they 

don’t take it but if they do take it, declarer now has 2 more tricks set up. 

• Cover honours to promote tricks in your or your partner’s hand – but be very careful when you have length and 

might crash a short honour in partner’s hand. 

• Don’t be afraid to re-open with a double if you are happy for partner to pass for penalties (see advanced 

section). 

 

More advanced 

Let’s consider the point where the play went heart lead won in dummy, J holding, S to the 9, diamond (north taking 

the Ace), 2nd heart ruffed by South.  Why should South exit their last trump?   

At that point South knows declarer has 5 spades and 2 hearts.  So they have 6 cards in diamonds and clubs but we 

don’t know exactly how many in each.  If they only had 1 diamond, they have 5 clubs and a trump exit will cut 

dummy off totally.  If they have a 2nd diamond, they have 4 clubs.  Yes they can now get to dummy with a diamond 

to discard one club but they are probably still going to lose 3 of them.   

We are really just looking at the principle of leading  trumps to reduce ruffs in dummy but at a later, perhaps less 

obvious, point in the hand.  The risk of NOT exiting our last trump but playing clubs instead is allowing declarer to 

score a club ruff in dummy AND take at least one discard on the diamonds.  Now they might only lose 2 club tricks.  

North is probably going to win the club switch but we know they can’t play any more trumps. 

 

Returning to the auction after 1 P 1 2 East might decide they would like to try defending.  In which case they 

should pass over 2 (smoothly so as to not give partner an ethical dilemma).  Should West re-open with a takeout 

double?  I think so.  They have a 5th spade and a good club suit so the only bid from partner that will cause us a 

problem is 3.  My rule of thumb here tends to be to ask myself the question “if we’d been playing penalty doubles 

and partner had made one, would I have left it in?”  If the answer to that is yes, then I tend to re-open with the 

double to give partner the chance to pass.   Here partner should be extremely tempted to pass: 
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a) They have 3 virtually certain trump tricks 

b) They have an easy spade lead that hopefully will start forcing declarer 

c) The opponents are vulnerable so if our side can’t make game even 1 off doubled will be a great result 

As we saw on the occasion where North did unwisely bid hearts a 2nd time, 3 went 4 off.  So even 2 will be going 

3 off which is a potential 800!   

What if West doesn’t have so many clubs?  Should they still double?  Yes because now they will have more diamonds 

or more spades.  So if partner does bid clubs, we can just return to diamonds or repeat our own spades.  Hence we 

don’t always have to have a “perfect” takeout double shape for these re-opening doubles – we are merely giving 

partner the chance to take a penalty first.  If they don’t, we can still bid on. 

One final point about doubling.  One auction went 1 P 1 2, 2 P P 3.  At this point a double from East should 

be penalties.   The primary purpose of takeout doubles is to help our side find a fit.  We have already done that 

(spades).  We have also concluded we are not going to play in game (we passed 2).  Therefore we don’t need 

double to mean anything else – it should be blood!  And on this hand it would have been a lot (1,100)! 

 

Julian Foster (many times NSW representative) 

Queen’s Birthday BBO Pairs on Monday 14th June 

Because of online games, there is a fear that Face-to-face club 

sessions may disappear.  We believe that there is value for our 

players in running both!  We invite you to join us to this 

experiment on Queen’s Birthday Monday on 14th June.  Both our 

BBO session (10.15am start) and our Face-to-Face club session 

(10.00am start) will issue RED masterpoints! 

• RED 14th June – BBO Monday morning, 10.15am – 12.30pm 

• RED 14th June – F2F Monday morning, 10.00am – 1.15pm 

Because of time difference, they will play different hands.  

Normal table money fee.  Visitors and walk in are welcome.  

 

The Sydney Bridge Centre is now running F2F club sessions AND online sessions on BBO 
Yes, we have reopened on Goulburn Street only. Rozelle and Henley remain closed for the time being. We 

are now running F2F sessions in the City AND also online sessions on BBO. Please find our full session 

timetable on our website:  

https://www.sydneybridgecentre.com/sbc-sessions/ 

For Face-to-Face sessions:  

All are welcome, you don’t need to be a member to join us for a game in SBC. We have sessions for different 

level of players. If you need a partner, please come in 15-20 minutes before the game start, our directors 

will try to find you a partner.  

Normal table money fee. 

For BBO sessions:  

All are welcome. No need to book. Please find us on BBO / Featured Areas / Virtual Clubs / ABF-Australia. 

Tournament title “Sydney Bridge Centre & Friends”. Tournament will open only 2 hours before the game 

starts. 

BB$3 per person per game.  

https://www.sydneybridgecentre.com/sbc-sessions/

